top of page
  • Writer's pictureCiara

Gym Rat

I’m loving college! One of my favorite parts is the gym privileges that come included with my tuition. I went from never using a gym in my life, to now going to the gym every day.

One of my best friends, Syd, actually recently taught me how to utilize the weight room, so now I’m alternating my days between cardio and strength training. It’s a great cure to my sleep problems, because now I can just do an early morning gym run when I can’t sleep, and I find myself sleeping better at night due to the exhaustion.

If you are like me and many other spoonies, you may have a lot of trouble walking long distances and climbing stairs. My way to work on this is to tackle the elliptical machine for an hour every day, and then do the muscle-specific machines. I do low-weight, high-rep, since this works better for me and allows me to spend more time targeting my desired muscles, and slowly teaching them the endurance they lack.

Diet is also an important part of any lifestyle. I try to eat fresh and organic food for every meal, but obviously college is notorious for the lack of options. Our off-campus options here are actually very good, and adaptable to my specific dietary needs. I drink a lot of water, A LOT. It really helps balance out the body and restore energy. Doing a monthly Miralax cleanse is also super vital for me. I usually just set it up the night before I start, and mark all the bottles with an “M” so none of my visitors make the mistake of delving into the Miralax life. With my chronic constipation, regulating my bowel movements and keeping track of any weird feelings is vital.

My final “trick” is the extensive list of vitamins and supplements that I take. If you want me to do another post just on my current medication routine, I’ll definitely start working on that!

Obviously, my tricks won’t work for everyone, we’re all different. Whenever I make adjustments, I usually track them on my social media, so follow that! (Shameless self-promo) Also let me know what works and doesn’t work for you! I’d love to hear feedback!

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Hiiiii...

Has it been almost 2 years since my last post? Yes. Am I really sorry? Yes!! Do I only have like 5 readers anyway? Yes. I've recently made an Instagram for the blog in an effort to stay more up to dat

Sorry I went MIA, I have PCOS

Hi Everyone! I literally have neglected y'all for over a year. I feel so terribly about this. A lot has happened, which forced me stop writing, but I want to change this! I have another post lined up

bottom of page